Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Prof. Leon L. Shaw's Group

     RESEARCH GROUP         





Awards & Honors

Elected Fellows and Members (Dr. Shaw):

  • Fellow, ASM International (since 2004).
  • Fellow, World Academy of Materials and Manufacturing Engineering Poland (since 2005).
  • Member, Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (since 2006)
  • Member, EU Academy of Sciences (since 2019)
  • Fellow, International Association of Advanced Materials (since 2020)

Research Awards and Featured in Various Magazines:

  • "Researchers to Know in 2020" recognized by Illinois Science & Techology Coalition.
  • "Excellence in Research Award for 2020" Department of Mechanical, Materials and Aerospace Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology.
  • IAAM Fellow Lecture at the Advanced Materials Lecture Series, published at the Open Access Video Proceedings of Advanced Materials: VPOAM-2020- RG-E-12, 2020.
  • “Key Scientific Article Contributing to Research Excellence” featured by Advances in Engineering in December 2019
  • Keynote Presentation at the 2nd International Conference on Materials Science and Materials Chemistry: “Coating as a Potent Method to Enhance the Specific Capacity, Charge Rate and Cycle Life of Cathodes for Next-Generation Li-ion Batteries”, London, United Kingdom, March 20 – 21, 2019.
  • “Energy Award” in 2018 presented by International Association of Advanced Materials (IAAM).
  • Energy Award Lecture in the Plenary Session of the 20th Assembly of the European Advanced Materials Congress 2018: “Hierarchical Design and Synthesis of Si Anodes for Next-Generation Li-ion Batteries”.
  • Keynote Presentation at THERMEC’2016: “Hierarchical Design and Synthesis of Nanomaterials to Enable High Capacity Rechargeable Battery Electrodes,” Graz, Austria, May 29 – June 3, 2016.
  • “Key Scientific Article contributing to the Excellence in Energy Research” featured by Renewable Energy Global Innovations in June 2015.
  • Keynote Presentation at Cleantech 2014: “High Voltage, High Capacity, Ambient Temperature Sodium-Based Flow Batteries,” Washington DC, June 15 – 19, 2014.
  • Keynote Presentation at ISPlasma2013: “Energy Storage Enabled by Nanomaterials and Advanced Processing,” Nagoya, Japan, January 28 - February 1, 2013.
  • NSF Highlights: “Next Generation Bone Implants: More Like the Real Thing” for the NSF Project: Functionally Graded Orthopedic Implants via the Slurry Mixing and Dispensing Process (2011).
  • Outstanding Poster Award, MS&T’ 2011, October 16 – 20, 2011, Columbus, OH (2011).
  • "Catch-and-Release Solid-State Fuel Cell Material Operates Coolly,” featured by Battelle Newsletter – the Business of Innovation, December 3, 2010.
  • “Shaw Pioneers New Nanomaterials,” featured in UConn Magazine, Spring 2010, p. 10.
  • "Functionally Graded Implants Fuse Strength with a Bioactive Surface" featured in Medical Production engineering News, March 2010, p. 6.
  • “Highly Commended Paper for Excellence 2006” by Emerald Group Publishing Limited (2006).
  • “Low Cost, High Performance Nanostructured Bulk WC-Co Materials” featured in Cutting Tool Engineering, 55 [3] 78 (2003).
  • Best Poster Award for the 14th Solid Freeform Fabrication (SFF) Annual Meeting, Austin, TX (2003).
  • “Thermal Spraying of Nanostructured Al2O3-TiO2 Coatings & Nanostructured WC-Co Coatings” featured in High Tech Ceramics News, 14 [4] 3 (2002) and in Small Times Magazine, Sept 19, 2002
  • “Novel Synthesis of Nanostructured Carbides” featured in Chemical Engineering, 105 [2] 27 (1998); in Am. Ceram. Soc. Bull., 77 [5] 24 (1998); and in Sealing Technology, No. 54, p. 6 (1998).
  • Second place of the 1991 Excellent Academic Papers, the Science Association of Fujian, China (1991).
  • “Cool It! Molecular-Level Mechanism for Hydrogenation in Hydrogen Storage System Revealed,” featured by EMSL, published online at
  • “PNNL and Connecticut New Low Temperature Hydrogen Solid Storage” featured by The Hydrogen Journal, published online at displaynews.php?NewsID=575.

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards from Shaw’s Group:

  • 2018 – ASM Chicago Regional Chapter Carl Samans Award for outstanding research in Li-ion batteries (Mr. Maziar Ashuri)
  • 2018 – The First Place winner in the poster competition at the 2018 Joint Advanced Photon Source/Center for Nanoscale Materials(APS/CNM) Users Meeting, Argonne National Laboratory, May 8, 2018 (Ms. Qianran He).
  • 2018 – The First Place winner at the ASM Chicago Regional Chapter Poster Competition (Ms. Shan-Ju Chiang).
  • 2018 – Armour College of Engineering 2018 Scholarship for Research in Engineering for outstanding research in Na-ion batteries (Ms. Mei Luo).
  • 2018 – The First Place winner in the MMAE Department poster competition at the PhD student category (Ms. Qianran He).
  • 2018 – The Third Place winner at the ASM Chicago Regional Chapter Poster Competition (Ms. Mei Luo).
  • 2010 – Outstanding Graduate Student Award of the Materials Science and Engineering Program, UConn (Dr. Tippawan Markmaitree)
  • 2011 – Graduate Excellence in Materials Science (GEMS) Award (Dr. Yang Zhong), MS&T’ 2011, October 16 – 20, 2011, Columbus, OH.
  • 2011 – Engineering Outstanding Women Graduate Student Award, UConn (Dr. Xuefei Wan)
  • 2009 – Outstanding Graduate Theses Award of the School of Engineering, UConn (Dr. William A. Osborn).

Award-Winning Faculty Advisor to the Student Chapters at the University of Connecticut (1998 – 2001 & 2002 – 2004) with the following national and international awards:

  • ASM/TMS Chapters of Excellence for Technical Programming in 1999
  • ASM/TMS Chapters of Excellence for Technical Programming in 2001
  • ASM/TMS Chapters of Excellence for Promotion of the Field in 2003
  • The First Place Winner of the 2003 AIST, ASM, TMS World Materials Outreach Day Award
  • The First Place Winner of the 2004 AIST, ASM, TMS World Materials Outreach Day Award

Other Awards (Dr. Shaw):

  • 2010 – Nominated for the 2010 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience.
  • 2010 – The John & Virginia Towers Distinguished Lecture, Michigan Technological University.
  • 2011 – Nominated for the Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor at the University of Connecticut.
  • 2006 – Outstanding Faculty Member of the Chemical, Materials & Biomolecular Engineering Dept., University of Connecticut.
  • 2001 – UConn Metallurgy and Materials Engineering 2001 Outstanding Department Member Award.
  • 2000 – UConn School of Engineering Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, 2000.
  • 1999 – Honorary Advisory Professorship of Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin, China.
  • 1999 – Honorary Guest Professorship of Fuzhou University, Fuzhou, China.
  • 1995 – Olin Junior Faculty Development Award, Olin Corporation.
  • 1994 - Los Alamos National Laboratory J. Robert Oppenheimer Postdoctoral Fellowship Award.
  • 1992 – First place of the ASM International Graduate Student Paper Contest, ASM International.
  • 1992 – Oak Ridge National Laboratory Eugene P. Wigner Fellowship Award, 1992.